Ben Bags Purbeck Triathlon Club Sika Trail Duathlon

BEN Lang recovered from third to record a brilliant win in the Sika Trail Duathlon, which was organised by the Purbeck Triathlon Club.

Lang trailed veteran competitor Nick Baugniet and TriPurbeck’s Justin Matthews by one minute after the first run in Wareham, but superbly overhauled his rivals during the cycling discipline before consolidating his lead on the second run.

His time of one hour, 26 minutes and 35 seconds beat Baugniet, who won the veteran race, by 69 seconds, with Tim McDowell finishing 4mins 13secs adrift to claim a net third place.

Last year’s winner Helen Dyke enjoyed more success in 2012 by winning the women’s senior race in 1:36.17hr.

Having established a significant lead after the first run, Dyke’s advantage was eroded by a wonderful cycle from Rachel Gurney, before Dyke regained her lead to beat Gurney into second by almost four minutes. Lydia Birch took third place, some 15 minutes shy of Dyke.

Jane King’s time of 1:52.33hr secured her the women’s veteran race, while the sole junior competitor in the race, Jordan Symmington, impressed with 10th place, just 9mins, 8secs behind race-winner Lang.

In the junior categories, there were excellent wins for Arthur Brook and Jessica Baker in the boys’ and girls’ Tristart events, while Dylan Williams and Rachel Packard took respective wins in the boys’ and girls’ Tristar one events.

Jed Skilton and Lola Lopez were the victors in the boys and girls’ Tristar two events, and there was a resounding win for Northern Spanish Duathlon champion Sami Brown Araujo, who destroyed his opponents by two minutes and 31 seconds to take victory in the Tristar three race.

This year’s duathlon is scheduled for March 23.

The Purbeck Triathlon club has continued to grow throughout its second year with its members taking part in races locally, nationally and internationally.

The club coach on a regular basis for all abilities from complete novice to age group athletes.

If you are interested in more individual coaching support, contact or if you would like to get involved with the club, visit the website

Meanwhile the club has handed out its annual awards with the following honoured.

Roll of Honour

    Male triathlete of the year: Derek Bardsley
    Most improved male: Simon Carvisiglia
    Most improved female: Shirley Shailer
    Best performance male: John Skilton
    Female triathlete of the year: Fran Bungay
    Most improved junior boy: Charlie Riches
    Most improved junior girl: Ella MacKay
    Best performance junior boy: George Robson
    Best performance junior girl: Annie Bungay
    Junior triathlete of the year boy: Jed Skilton
    Junior triathlete of the year girl: Lily Burnet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *